Sometimes there may exist duplicates of an object in a repository. This occurs when you choose "Create duplicate" when adding an object with the same title as an already existing object. You can read more about this in this FAQ: What does it mean to "Reuse" or "Create a duplicate" of an object?
If you've created duplicates by mistake, or if you later realized these objects should be reused objects where changes to one object affect the other, you can merge the duplicates. In this FAQ, we'll explain how you merge duplicates of objects.
- Start by clicking "Browser" in the left panel, and then double-click on "Objects".
- A view in the Browser listing all the objects in your repository will appear. Find your duplicates of objects and select them in the list.
- Right-click on the objects you've selected and choose "Merge duplicate objects".
- A dialogue will appear where you can select the object you want to replace the other object with. For example, objects X and Y contain different information, but you want the information from object X to overwrite the information on object Y. To distinguish the objects from each other and therefore choose which object to replace the other object with, you can double-click on the objects in the dialogue. You can then see the properties of the object and figure out what information distinguishes them from each other. Thereafter you can select what object to replace the other one with by selecting it in the list. When you've chosen an object, you click the "check-mark".
- Now, the object you've chosen to replace will be replaced by the other object in all models where the object exists. This means you only need to change the information in one object, and the changes will be visible on the object in all other models where the object is reused.